Why I Blog

Placeholder ImageI have recently started blogging again and I have struggled to have any real direction in my blog. Originally I thought I would write a DIY Blog as we went about fixing our house, but that was much more technical and time consuming than I originally thought it would be and it was not enjoyable. Then I switched to blogging about homeschool, which is fun, I love homeschooling and my friend who is co-homeschooling with me has the most creative ideas! However, most of the creative ideas are hers and would require even more coordination than we already do with curriculum for me to write about them.

I have had to spend some time reflecting and deciding if it is a good use of my time and if I want to continue blogging, from this retrospection I have come up with the reason why I blog:

1. It give me a reason to reflect on events and make sense of things that are going on in the world.  

If I’m going to blog about something I want it to be at least halfway cohesively written and easy to understand, so I’ll spend more time reflecting on a certain subject or analyzing the cause and effect of changes I make within my household. For instance, I knew I wanted to write the blog “How to Turn Off the TV for Good” because I am passionate about watching less TV and encouraging others to take the constant noise of the TV away from their kids instead. Since I knew I was going to write about it, I paid closer attention to how my kids reacted, the good, the bad, and the downright ugly reactions of no longer watching TV. I believe this reflection helps me to be a better parent and a better person because I pay closer attention to the world around me.

2. Blogging is a Therapuetic Outlet. 

Much like keeping a daily journal, writing about your experiences is a therapeutic outlet. There will be times that I am consumed by an idea or something that is frustrating me, such as why women should stay at home instead of work, and I can’t stop thinking about it until I can write about it and get it out of my system. I’m hoping that at some point another person out there in the universe will read one blog post one day and go, oh yay, she’s crazy too, I’m not alone. You never know, it could happen.

3. Writer’s should write. 

I’ve always loved to write, when I was kid I wanted to be a journalist, and I would go around interviewing people with my little flip notebook. I was later convinced by others that I couldn’t be a good mom and a journalist so I should seek a more family friendly profession. I love to read as well, and when I was reading a book by Susan Bauer (I apologize I can’t remember which one it was) there was a quote in there that said “Writer’s should write” and it stuck with me. Even if I haven’t thought of some life changing idea, writer’s should write, and that’s what I love to do.

4. Blogging is a platform to voice your opinion without trying to condense it into 140 characters on twitter or a Facebook post that is bound to get you into trouble.

Seriously, have you ever stated your opinion on a controversial subject without somebody going off on you on Facebook. Nobody needs that grief on Facebook, in my opinion Facebook is for pictures of your kids and so you don’t forget birthdays. If I had written that on Facebook somebody would surely be furious that I would take such a stance.

5. I’m practicing so that I can write a book. 

I still want to write a book or two somebody. Writing is like any skill, if you don’t use it, you lose it. I really want to write a book on my observations in the business world on how customer service affects a business. Unfortunately, since I have been out of school the only writing I have done is notes and emails to co-workers and business clients, which is recommended to be written at a 3rd grade reading level. As a side note I think this a perposterous and as a society we should better educate ourselves so we can read above a 3rd grade reading level.  However, I need practice writing at a more advanced level before I write my book, so practice, practice, practice.

Share why you blog!

 

Leave a Reply

