5 Free Videos to Get Your Kids Excited to Learn Spanish

One of the many reasons we decided to home school our kids is so they can focus more time on the subjects they love and we have the freedom and flexibility to help them build a larger base of learning in their early years, a concept we learned from Classical Education . My husband speaks Spanish fluently and we live in an area where there is a fairly large population of Spanish speakers so it made sense for us to have them learn Spanish as their first secondary language. However, I was having a difficult time getting my daughter, who is 5, interested in Spanish, she was much more interested in creating her own language, which was a lot of “ebo dedo ai” and “bibi bo bo” which I’m assuming is her trying to speak to R2D2. I was starting to get frustrated when I was listening to Spartan Up by Joe Desena on Audible and he said that they also have their children learn another language, and he and his wife allow their kids to watch as much TV as they want as long as it is in the other language, ie Spanish, Mandarin, French, whatever language you are encouraging your kids to master. My kids aren’t as into TV, but they absolutely love watching music videos on YouTube, which I am constantly fighting, so I finally stopped fighting. I found a few videos that my kids love, and now they are excited to learn Spanish and will ask me how to say things in Spanish throughout the day.

These are a few of the best videos I have found to get your kids interested in Spanish:

Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes  It’s a familiar song to kids, Jamie on here is a great singer, and I think my kids like her because she is happy and cheerful throughout the whole song. My kids can sing this whole song now and they can name all the body parts in Spanish.

Mi Cuerpo Hace Musica This one is nice because it doesn’t have an advertisement in the beginning, and it is interactive, so my 2 year old loves it as well.

Teach them to Count to Ten in Spanish There are a lot of different videos you can use, but for some reason my kids like this song the best.

Days of the Week This is a very upbeat, fun song for kids to learn and it is helpful for us parents that don’t speak Spanish to have the subtitles and learn as well!

Learn Sports with BASHO & FRIENDS – Juegos My kids love this one! Personally, I would not have picked this song, but my kids have so much singing along and the repetition is great!

There are a lot of paid for programs to teach your kids Spanish, but we are going to attempt to use all the free resources available to us first, we will keep you update on what we find works best and other great sources to teach your kids Spanish! If you have found a great free source for kids to learn Spanish please let us know in the comments !

**I don’t receive any compensation for promoting any products, services, or videos on my blog, this is just what I have found works best for my kids.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

